ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index ESS Shakuhachi Forum
Practice, Culture and History of Japanese Bamboo Flute 尺八. A Project of the European Shakuhachi Society (ESS)

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Fingering Charts

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index -> ESS Forums -> The Playpen
Previous topic :: Next topic  
Shakhi

PostPosted: 2013-08-14, 13:56    Post subject: Fingering Charts Reply with quote

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
My PVC shakuhachi arrived today. 1.8 in D root end style. I'm a total beginner to playing music and know next to nothing about musical notation. I'm learning how to hold the flute against my lips. Getting a sound out of it is somewhat hit and miss - I guess that is down to practice and I'm watching lots of YouTube videos about this.

I can get different notes by covering various holes; so am I correct in guessing the next thing to do is to learn to play scales? There are several "fingering charts" - which is the one I should start with as a total beginner?
JF Lagrost
Administrator

PostPosted: 2013-08-14, 14:57    Post subject: Fingering Charts Reply with quote

Hello Shakhi,

There are several fingering charts here, you can start with the "Very simplified chart" !
Visit poster’s website
Shakhi

PostPosted: 2013-08-14, 15:58    Post subject: Fingering Charts Reply with quote

Thank you, that is very useful. I'm getting the five different notes but need to practice them now so I can get them consistently. Smile
Plume Blanche

PostPosted: 2013-08-14, 18:05    Post subject: Fingering Charts Reply with quote

It is necessary that you play each note long.

Good luck. And let us know of your progress.

Okay

PostPosted: 2013-08-14, 19:17    Post subject: Fingering Charts Reply with quote