ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index ESS Shakuhachi Forum
Practice, Culture and History of Japanese Bamboo Flute 尺八. A Project of the European Shakuhachi Society (ESS)

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Playing sharp

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index -> ESS Forums -> The Playpen
Previous topic :: Next topic  
muraiki

PostPosted: 2013-10-06, 01:51    Post subject: Playing sharp Reply with quote

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
Hi all, I'm a relative beginner to shakuhachi and I keep having problems with playing sharp. The only way I can figure out to flatten the pitch is to increase the angle of the shakuhachi. I could describe the angle by saying that the cut on the utaguchi is almost horizontal when I play. I guess that I am having problems directing my airstream downwards...

I also find that I when I have the clearest, fullest tone my shakuhachi is held at this angle. I also have a very easy time with meri notes from this angle -- I barely have to move my head downwards.

I looked online at pictures of different shakuhachi players and I see a variety of angles, so I'm not certain if this is even a problem. I'd really appreciate any advice that you could offer me. I have taken some lessons online but haven't had any recently as I've been struggling to recover from an illness. Thanks!

Edit: I'm generally around 20 cents sharp. I'm playing on a shakuhachi yuu.
muraiki

PostPosted: 2013-10-06, 01:59    Post subject: Playing sharp Reply with quote