ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index ESS Shakuhachi Forum
Practice, Culture and History of Japanese Bamboo Flute 尺八. A Project of the European Shakuhachi Society (ESS)

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

embouchure problem - due to lip shape?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index -> ESS Forums -> The Playpen
Previous topic :: Next topic  
muraiki

PostPosted: 2014-12-23, 05:32    Post subject: embouchure problem - due to lip shape? Reply with quote

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
Hi all,

I've been slowly getting back into playing shakuhachi after losing most of my ability following a concussion. I don't think my tone is too bad anymore, but I recently started playing in front of a mirror and noticed that my embouchure is really weird. It's very much pulled to one side. I think this is because of two problems I have: The bump in the middle of my top lip (no idea what it's actually called) is large, and my facial muscles have always favored a slightly crooked smile.

Because of the bump, when I gently blow air out of my mouth it naturally comes out from one side of the bump. When I "tighten" my embouchure, I end up pulling my lips to the opposite side to flatten out the hole and making a crooked smile. I recently read that I should be using more control of the upper lip to affect tone instead of pulling the lips to their sides, though, so maybe that will help.