ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index ESS Shakuhachi Forum
Practice, Culture and History of Japanese Bamboo Flute 尺八. A Project of the European Shakuhachi Society (ESS)

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Storing shakuhachi in Nordic countries?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index -> ESS Forums -> The Playpen
Previous topic :: Next topic  
laonikoss

PostPosted: 2015-10-28, 20:58    Post subject: Storing shakuhachi in Nordic countries? Reply with quote

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
Hey everyone! I'm new to the world of shakuhachi, but very excited to have finally made the commitment to start my journey.

A quick question about storing and caring for the instrument, perhaps some of you might have had experience with similar climates:

I live in Helsinki, Finland. This means that winters get very cold, and when the sea eventually freezes, also very dry. Fortunately it's a lot less dry here on the coast than it is in central or north Finland, and winters are shorter. Now outside temperatures are around 0ºC, and can go down to -20ºC in the winter; in the summer they can be over 20ºC for weeks at a time, or even 30ºC on occasion.

The other thing is that most flats in Helsinki use central heating. I just measured humidity in my room last night - a formidable 30%, and it's not even winter yet. Outside humidity seems to fluctuate between 50-60%, when it's not raining, and temperatures easily reach 0ºC at night.

My question is - how would you (ideally) store a shakuhachi in such a climate?