ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index ESS Shakuhachi Forum
Practice, Culture and History of Japanese Bamboo Flute 尺八. A Project of the European Shakuhachi Society (ESS)

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Go/No/Hi (ryo) sounds lower than Ro (kan)?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index -> ESS Forums -> The Playpen
Previous topic :: Next topic  
laonikoss

PostPosted: 2016-03-16, 10:19    Post subject: Go/No/Hi (ryo) sounds lower than Ro (kan)? Reply with quote

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
Hey everyone,

I'm pretty new with shakuhachi - I got one in autumn and have been practicing mainly on my own and with Blasdel's guide since then.

I can produce a tone fairly consistently, and having had some experience with bamboo flutes before the kan range is also slowly revealing itself, which feels great!

I yesterday started looking more into intonation, and actually I just realised that my Ro in ryo is down to a C# or even C. (I am playing on a 1.8 D shakuhachi.)

The awkward thing is that when I play the Ro in kan, it sounds like a D - effectively, when I go up the scale, my Go/No/Hi in ryo sounds like a clear half-step below my Ro in kan. My embouchure and chin position remain virtually identical, and I only change my fingering, yet there is this clear half-tone difference.

I am aware (and have been warned!) that beginners tend to play notes lower than they're supposed to be played - but shouldn't that be reflected in the Kan register too? Which is why I'm confused - the kan register is the proper pitches (ro-kan is a D) but with the same chin position the ro-ryo is a C to C#.