ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index ESS Shakuhachi Forum
Practice, Culture and History of Japanese Bamboo Flute 尺八. A Project of the European Shakuhachi Society (ESS)

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Air Coming Out of A Bicycle Tire

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index -> ESS Forums -> The Playpen
Previous topic :: Next topic  
noodles

PostPosted: 2011-10-06, 02:41    Post subject: Air Coming Out of A Bicycle Tire Reply with quote

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
I have been playing the shakuhachi for 10 months now. I don't have a teacher yet, but I have been learning from the web, DVD's, and Cd's with their accompanying instructional manuals. I can play in tune, in both the otsu and kan registers, but my tone is not clear. There is a soft hissing sound, like the air coming out of a bicycle tire, along with the note. Sometimes it is very noticeable, sometimes not so noticeable, but still lurking nonetheless beneath the surface of my notes. I assume this is because my emboushure is not built up yet, and that hopefully, over time, the hissing sound will disappear. I've looked at my emboushure in the mirror while I play, and I can't make my lip opening any smaller or narrower than it already is (especially for the kan register). Again, it is my hope that this will require a subtle change of my emboushure over a long time of practicing, however long that may be. My question is, "has anyone else experienced this annoying hissing sound, and if you have, how long did it take you to get rid of it?".
Jon Kypros
Professional Member

PostPosted: 2011-10-06, 15:18    Post subject: Air Coming Out of A Bicycle Tire Reply with quote

Hello,