ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index ESS Shakuhachi Forum
Practice, Culture and History of Japanese Bamboo Flute 尺八. A Project of the European Shakuhachi Society (ESS)

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Cleaning the shakuhachi

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index -> ESS Forums -> The Playpen
Previous topic :: Next topic  
dyims

PostPosted: 2012-02-08, 10:19    Post subject: Cleaning the shakuhachi Reply with quote

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
Hi,

I am new to the Shakuhachi. I want to know how I can properly clean the interior of a shakuhachi? Can I use a cleaning rod from the western concert flute, or is it too rough for the surface of the bamboo? Do you recommend me to buy the cleaning cloth with a string attached and not used the western cleaning method (cleaning rod with a cloth attached)? I have been using that method for some time but I don't know if it will do harm to the shakuhachi interior.
Brian Tairaku Ritchie

PostPosted: 2012-02-08, 10:32    Post subject: Cleaning the shakuhachi Reply with quote

You can make your own cleaning cloth from a handkerchief, a piece of string and a weight of some sort. Do not use a rod as it may damage the bamboo and/or the lacquer inside the bore.
Jam

PostPosted: 2012-02-09, 01:47    Post subject: Cleaning the shakuhachi Reply with quote

And also, when you pull the cloth through the flute, be careful not to damage the utaguchi...
dyims

PostPosted: 2012-02-09, 02:12    Post subject: Cleaning the shakuhachi Reply with quote