ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index ESS Shakuhachi Forum
Practice, Culture and History of Japanese Bamboo Flute 尺八. A Project of the European Shakuhachi Society (ESS)

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Hello from Phoenix Arizona!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index -> ESS Forums -> The Teahouse
Previous topic :: Next topic  
chuck56

PostPosted: 2011-03-31, 14:29    Post subject: Hello from Phoenix Arizona! Reply with quote

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
Hello All,

I just wanted to say a quick hello and introduce my self. I've been playing shakuhachi for about 7 years now.

Best wishes,
Chuck Peck

Live the moment, be kind and be your self!
Kiku Day

PostPosted: 2011-03-31, 15:34    Post subject: Hello from Phoenix Arizona! Reply with quote

Welcome to the forum, Chuck.
Great to have people from Arizona here! I loved Arizona!
Tell us more about your shakuhachi journey... if you don't mind! Smile
Visit poster’s website Skype
chuck56

PostPosted: 2011-03-31, 20:07    Post subject: Hello from Phoenix Arizona! Reply with quote

Hello Kiku,

About 7 years ago I got interested in playing the shakuhachi after coming across a CD of shakuhachi music. I got my first flute, a shakuhachi Yuu and because I was living just outside NY City, I took a few lessons Ronnie Nyogetsu Reishin Seldin.

I moved to Arizona and discovered that it was a shakuhachi waste land., no teachers, no players… no shakuhachi anything. Luckily I came across the Shakuhachi Summer Camp of the Rockies. I’ve been going there every year since then and loving it.

I’ve still not found a local teacher but I’m enjoying my growth through self teaching and camp every year. I’ve recently found a couple other shakuhachi player in the Phoenix area and we’re meeting monthly.