ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index ESS Shakuhachi Forum
Practice, Culture and History of Japanese Bamboo Flute 尺八. A Project of the European Shakuhachi Society (ESS)

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Did I make a good buy ?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index -> ESS Forums -> The Playpen
Previous topic :: Next topic  
gerardo1000

PostPosted: 2013-04-27, 00:28    Post subject: Did I make a good buy ? Reply with quote

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
Hi ! I am new to this Forum and new to Shakuhachi, although I play a bit (I am an amateur) other flutes as Irish Low D, Irish flute, Quena and the traditional silver flute.
I recently purchased a bamboo 1.8 shakuhachi by Mr. Shepard on E Bay, I really like it considering that I paid a very low price for it (less than $ 70.00). But I wanted to step up a bit, without spending a huge amount of money. I am aware that for less than $170.00 I could get a shakuhachi uu and that everybody thinks that for the price it is a very decent instrument.
But I really find the aesthetic of this flute very "cheesy: i.e. the imitation of the root end etc.... I mean: if you build a shakuhachi in ABS or plastic, that is fine, but there is no need to imitate the shape of a bamboo...
So...perhaps because I am influenced by the beauty of my irish flute and my quena, both made with wood, I decided to explore the option of getting a used wooden shakuhachi, even if (I know) it is not really part of the shakuhachi tradition.
After much search I happened to buy (I believe at good prices, after some negotiations) two wooden shakuhachi, one apparently bought in Tokyo many years ago, the other being an old version of the Zen On shakuhachi.
Here are the links to see the instruments:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/330898925794?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p…