ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index ESS Shakuhachi Forum
Practice, Culture and History of Japanese Bamboo Flute 尺八. A Project of the European Shakuhachi Society (ESS)

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Greetings from New York!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index -> ESS Forums -> The Teahouse
Previous topic :: Next topic  
Muraiki Music

PostPosted: 2011-04-01, 20:21    Post subject: Greetings from New York! Reply with quote

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
I just discovered that shakuhachiforum.com is no more, so I'm making the move to this wonderful site.

My name is Austin Shadduck and I've been playing shakuhachi for a little over 2 years under the guidance of Michael Chikuzen Gould. For the past few years I've been more of a composer than a performer (I'm most proficient on saxophone) while pursuing a master's degree in composition at Queens College in the greater New York City area. My master's studies are coming to an end and I'm thinking about signing up for another five years of doctoral work in the fall, which is a double-edged sword. Either way I'm going to continue playing shakuhachi, and hopefully write more for it! My username, Muraiki Music, comes first from shakuhachi playing (I love big, breathy sounds), and it's also the name of my ASCAP-registered music publishing entity.

In case you are interested, I've written one piece for shakuhachi and guitar. Here is a description and audio files for your listening pleasure:

Haiku for shakuhachi (or flute) and guitar, 2010