ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index ESS Shakuhachi Forum
Practice, Culture and History of Japanese Bamboo Flute 尺八. A Project of the European Shakuhachi Society (ESS)

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

question about Kimigayo

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index -> ESS Forums -> The Playpen
Previous topic :: Next topic  
BeginnersMind0

PostPosted: 2013-06-26, 02:14    Post subject: question about Kimigayo Reply with quote

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
Hi, so i am just starting out on the Shakuhachi and am of course learning Kimigayo. The 14th note on my written version is marked as a tsu-meri but every version of this tune I have found on youtube (non shakuhachi versions) have the note played as a regular tsu (ie Bb versus B). How should I be playing this note? Thanks in advance!
Kiku Day

PostPosted: 2013-06-26, 14:46    Post subject: question about Kimigayo Reply with quote

What size shakuhachi are you playing?
On a standard D shakuhachi tsu no meri is Eb.
And what note does your version of Kimigayo begin with?
Or alternatively, you can scan and upload the file Smile
Visit poster’s website Skype
BeginnersMind0

PostPosted: 2013-06-26, 20:15    Post subject: question about Kimigayo Reply with quote

whoops, I was comparing to a western notation version I found but it is in the key of "D". (my bad). My Kinko version actually starts on "re" (western "G"). So the 14th note is a tsu or tsu-meri (or tsu no meri?)("F" or "E" or ever Eb)? I am playing a 1.8. Thank you for your efforts to help!
Kiku Day

PostPosted: 2013-06-27, 06:30    Post subject: question about Kimigayo Reply with quote

Ok. If the notation tells you to begin on re, then there are no meri notes in Kimigayō.
The 14th note will be tsu (all the holes except hole 1 closed).