ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index ESS Shakuhachi Forum
Practice, Culture and History of Japanese Bamboo Flute 尺八. A Project of the European Shakuhachi Society (ESS)

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Teeth and tongue in relation to precise air stream

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESS Shakuhachi Forum Forum Index -> ESS Forums -> The Playpen
Previous topic :: Next topic  
Rongoteus

PostPosted: 2020-05-21, 09:58    Post subject: Teeth and tongue in relation to precise air stream Reply with quote

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
Hello,

I am a beginner taking first (or maybe second?) steps into playing the shakuhachi, contemplating on getting online video lessons at some point in the near future, but for now just enjoying playing as a meditative musical improvisation while getting more and more immersed in the history and culture of the instrument. I have gotten to the point where playing otsu is now more easier and after warming up for a while I can play it confidently and get the instrument to really resonate without using too much breath.

I have a question regarding the upper octave and position of teeth and tongue. Yesterday I managed for the first time to play the upper octave relatively effortless and could sustain the tone and play melodies for a few minutes. However I did it by sort of pushing the tongue to the edge of my lower teeth and closing the gap between my teeth (of course also while trying to form a smaller opening between the lips). A slightly more intense feeling than what I need to play the normal octave, but not uncomfortably so.